Free Countries Information


embassies information
visas information
Contact Us

This page contains France country. Here you will find information about the location, capital, population, area, languages spoken and religions of the country below. Also you will be able to find out what it citizen is called, life expectancy, administrative division, districts, provinces… and more information, if you have additional questions please let us know.


France is a founding member state of the European Union and is the largest one by area. France has been a major power for several centuries with strong economic, cultural, military and political influence in Europe and abroad. During the 17th and 18th centuries, France colonised great parts of North America; during the 19th and early 20th centuries, France built the second largest empire of the time, including large portions of North, West and Central Africa, Southeast Asia, and many Pacific islands.

See also:  Video and National Anthem of France.

France Information
Where is France? Western Europe, bordering the Bay of Biscay and English Channel, between Belgium and Spain, southeast of the UK; bordering the Mediterranean Sea, between Italy and Spain
What’s the capital of France? Paris
The population of France is 64,057,792
note: 62,814,233 in metropolitan France (July 2010 est.)
What’s the area of France? 547,030 sq km
Languages spoken in France are: French 100%, rapidly declining regional dialects and languages (Provencal, Breton, Alsatian, Corsican, Catalan, Basque, Flemish)
Religions of France: Roman Catholic 83%-88%, Protestant 2%, Jewish 1%, Muslim 5%-10%, unaffiliated 4%
What’s the currency of France? euro (EUR)
A citizen of France is called: noun: Frenchman(men), Frenchwoman(women) adjective: French
Life expectancy in France is: male: 77.91 years female: 84.44 years (2010 est.)
Administrative divisions of France: 22 regions (regions, singular - region); Alsace, Aquitaine, Auvergne, Basse-Normandie, Bourgogne, Bretagne, Centre, Champagne-Ardenne, Corse, Franche-Comte, Haute-Normandie, Ile-de-France, Languedoc-Roussillon, Limousin, Lorraine, Midi-Pyrenees, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Pays de la Loire, Picardie, Poitou-Charentes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, Rhone-Alpes

Move the cursor over the map to enlarge